Portrait Drawing Tutorial

The Portrait Drawing Tutorial: http://www.stars-portraits.com/en/tutorial/portrait-drawing-tutorial.php

Please post all comments or questions here below. I will answer the questions if I can. You can also discuss the tutorial here.

8 Responses to Portrait Drawing Tutorial

  1. j. says:

    I really like your tutorials cause explain step by step how to draw something but in tutorial about Freida Pinto portrait I miss kinds of pencils .Which one to use to shading of face ,or nose or eyes ( i mean what number for example 2B ,7 B etc)
    anyway very nice work
    keep doing that
    geetings from Poland:)

    • timonc says:

      Thank you for your kind comment! In the section ‘Clothing’, I mentioned several types of pencil I used. And, yeah, I kind of omitted to mention that in the ‘Face’ section. Generally, I use charcoal for hair, ‘H’ or ‘HB’ for face, 2B for shadows on a face (to add some plasticity, like on sides of a nose and cheeks), 5B for darker shadows (like eye shadows or shadows under hair and so on), 8B for eyelashes, eye lens and other dark little areas on face. (More about shading will be in my next tutorial, hopefully :))

  2. Terhi says:

    I can’t believe how this tutorial begins, you tell people to trace the outline? If you trace an outline, that doesn’t mean you drew it. You might just as well print the reference photo, why to bother. D:
    I do like your shading tips, but that tracing got my blood boiling, that’s why this negative attitude.

    • timonc says:

      I don’t blame you for your negative attitude, it’s ok. But the tutorial is for beginners. Commonly you measure features of your object with a pencil or some reference, when the scale is not 1:1. However, when it is 1:1, it means you just copy the features, which is outlining – and that is what I explained. Naturally, it is not possible to trace them all, just the main. It really doesn’t mean that the rest is just piece of cake.

  3. Anette says:

    Hi 😉

    I really like your tutorial but I want to ask about drawing background. Can I replace charcoil with pencil? How can I draw it using pencil?

Leave a Reply

